

Minutes of the 12th Senate Meeting of IIIT-D held on 27th July 2010, at 3.30 PM in Conference Room, Library Building, IIIT Delhi

Following members were present:

• Prof. Pankaj Jalote - Chairman

Dr. Veena Bansal
Dr. Astrid Kiehn
Faculty for student affairs
Faculty for academic affairs

• Dr. K. K. Biswas - Member (from IITD)

Dr. Pushpendra Singh
Dr. Somitra Sanadhya
Dr. Amarjeet Singh
Dr. Vikram Goyal
Dr. Ashish Sureka
Dr. Anirban Mondal
Member
Member
Member

Special invitees:

Dr. Shishir Nagaraja
Dr. Saket Srivastava
Dr. Debajyoti Bera
Faculty, IIIT-D
Faculty, IIIT-D

Members present through Audio Conferencing:

Dr. Mukesh K Mohania - Member
Mr. C. Anantaram - Member

12.0 Opening remarks of Chairman

The Chairman extended a warm welcome to all those who were present in person. The members who could not attend the meeting were granted leave of absence.

12.1 Confirmation of minutes of the 11th Senate meeting

As there were no comments, the minutes were confirmed.

12.2 Filling up of vacancy in Senate owing to resignation of Dr. Manish Gupta

Dr. Manish Gupta, Director, IBM Research - India has resigned as a member of the Senate of IIIT-Delhi. Dr. Mukesh K Mohania will be our new Senate member in place of him. The same has been approved by the Director, IIIT-D.

The senate accepted the suggestion of having Dr. Mukesh Mohania from IBM IRL to replace Dr. Manish Gupta, and welcomed him to the Senate. The Senate also recorded its appreciation to Dr. Manish for his services to the Institute.

12.3 Appeal of students – Case of Mr. Pranshu Raghuvansh

It was agreed that, even though Mr. Pranshu deserves no concessions, keeping in mind the future of a young student, his request to convert his expulsion to "voluntary withdrawal" should be granted. The Director was authorized to take suitable action in this regard.

12.4 Accepting new students in the Phd, MTech and BTech Program.

The list of students was accepted.

12.5 Repeat Rules for 1st year student

The new repeat rules were accepted, after minor corrections and suggestions on presentation/ordering of the rules. It was agreed that regulations for these can be released after correcting the minor errors pointed out.

12.6 Review of Ordinances and Regulations for B Tech Program.

These were accepted. It was agreed that these can be released after correcting the minor errors pointed out.

12.7 Review of Regulations for BTech (IT) Program

These were accepted. It was agreed that these can be released after correcting the minor errors pointed out.

12.8 Recommendation for review of Selection Committee Panel

The following additional names were suggested (besides what are already there in the panel):

- Prem Kalara, CSE, IITD
- Sandeep Sen, CSE, IITD
- Sanjiv Narayan, MD, Calypto
- Alok Jain, Sr. Architect, Cadence
- Somenath Biswas, CSE/IITK
- Jayant Haritsa, SERC, IISc
- Prof. Jagdish, Joshi and Bhomic, EE, IIT Delhi

12.9 Standing Committee for Academic Appeals

It was agreed to have a standing committee under the chairmanship of DOAA/faculty in charge of Academics to consider academics related appeals of students. The committee will have three other faculty members in it, generally instructors of first year courses. The Director will constitute this committee each year, along with other committees.

12.10 Students who had deficient academic performance and have to repeat the year.

The report analyzing the reasons for 11 students repeating, and corrective actions taken was accepted and appreciated.

12.11 Any other matter with the permission of Chair

• Students wishing to do Honors but do not have 8.0 CGPA – they may be allowed to take an overload of one course in one semester, and if at graduation time they fulfill the requirements, they may be allowed to graduate with honors; the requirements at graduation time for honors remain the same.

• Students that were to be given warning due to low attendance last semester – as our policy has now changed, it was felt that the warning to these students may be put in abeyance.
